Glasgow performance! 26 June, 7.30pm – Mackintosh Queens Cross, Glasgow, Scotland

This unique concert and photographic exhibition celebrates a remarkable and colourful era of violin playing which found its flowering during the first half of the 20th century.
Violinist Feargus Hetherington, and pianist Edward Cohen perform a thrilling programme of music, including the supremely melodic Concerto by Jules Conus. From the baroque idiom of Handel, to the exquisite Hollywood brilliance of Korngold’s Much Ado About Nothing Suite, the variety of a traditional violin recital is brought back to life by the performers: they imbue the music with contemporary performance-practice ideals whilst retaining the magic of a bygone era. Much-loved encores by violinists – Fritz Kreisler’s Liebesleid and Jascha Heifetz’s transcription Deep River, to name just two – conclude the evening.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s